The Good, The Bad, and The Bravo

When it comes to reality TV, Bravo is my one true love. I will admit there are some shows I am not a fan of, I am a devout member of this cult led by my idol- Andy Cohen. 

Currently my favorite Bravo days are Monday and Tuesday. Monday features the show that started it all, The Real Housewives of Orange County of and a scripted show called Odd Mom Out. When Bravo first introduced scripted programming with The Girlfriends Guide to Divorce I was hesitant, I prefer my scripted Bravo to be under the guise of reality TV. But Odd Mom Out exceeded my expectations. It is not often that I can watch a show about life in Manhattan, the Upper East Side in particular, and say “they nailed it” and well, this show did. And of course, RHOC is only a few episodes in and is already delivering plenty of drama and “woohoos!” I’ve always been a Heather fan and still am, Shannon is growing on me, Tamra is the wife I love to hate, I need to see more from Meghan before I decide on her, and I always have an up and down relationship with Vicki the “OG of the OC” so I will wait on my opinion on her. I do miss Lizzie but am happy she is somewhat involved.

 I prefer my scripted Bravo to be under the guise of reality TV.

Moving on to Tuesday’s we have my personal favorite housewives, The Real Housewives of New York. I will admit I am biased towards RHONY because I live here but these women are great. I am beyond glad Bethenny is back on the show, although 8 full time wives is too much in my opinion. Luann was great last season so it makes sense she got her Apple back and I love Dorinda so maybe we could get rid of Kristen. Besides getting Ramona’s hair wet she never did much for me. I always liked Heather and look up to her in terms of the career she established in the fashion industry. Hey Heather if you ever read this HIRE ME! Carole is the epitome of cool and I love her books. Ramona, the OG of NY, has changed a lot over the years and because of her love for Pinot I call my mom “Ramona” whenever she orders a glass. And last but not least, Sonja. Oh Sonja, I am so desperate for a job I am considering being one of your interns. Congrats on launching the clothing line!

The other show currently on Tuesdays is Secrets and Wives. And for the same reason I love RHONY I am not a fan of this show. It centers around a group of women on Long Island, where my family is from and where we spend our summers. It embarrasses me the same way Princesses of Long Island did. Oh and for the record, my family is a south shore family and we are doing just fine.

I’m skipping Million Dollar Listing New York because I never had time to get fully into this season, though I love the LA version. Sunday night features Married To Medicine, which features a group of women in Atlanta that are either doctors or married to doctors. Thanks to this show Bravo viewers have the phrases “shady boots” and “lemon squeeze” (bravolebs really like their lemons don’t they). For me Married to Medicine fills the space that RHOA leaves when it goes off the air. It’s not one of my absolute favorites but it brings a good amount of drama. The other Sunday show is a new one called Mother Funders, which is about the drama surrounding a PTA. While my mother was never involved in my school’s parents association I can imagine it being like this or worse. Definitely a show I enjoy watching.

And last but not least, the every night show, Watch What Happens Live! I one day hope to visit the clubhouse. And preferably meet the great Andy Cohen and thank him for my addiction to these shows.

– Kable Kimmy

One thought on “The Good, The Bad, and The Bravo

  1. I love this blog post!! I am having a really hard time getting into Odd Mom Out, but I am happy you’re enjoying it!! When I first heard about ‘Mother Funders’ I was like are you kidding me? I have to admit though, the show is actually really funny! I love the banter and I am always rooting for Robin! 😉

Leave a comment