Love of the Game

Even though only one is in season right now, today I’m going to talk about my other big obsession: sports! I love sports, I owe it to my brother (who is a sports jeopardy champion) because without him, I wouldn’t be half the sports fanatic I am today. 

My favorite sports to watch are Football and Basketball, both college and professional. I am a die hard Ohio State fan and am a proud member of Buckeye Nation. This past football season needs to be turned into a movie if you ask me because no one could have written a better ending. I always joke that OSU is my shining light because my professional teams let me down, and that statement is pretty accurate most of the time.

For better or for worse, I am a New York Jets fan. It was actually on my birthday when they announced that Darrelle Revis was coming home. That was the best present I could have asked for. The Cromartie announcement the next day was just the cherry on top of the free sundae I got from Applebee’s. Not gonna lie I’m going to miss Rex Ryan, his personality and big mouth mostly. His first 2 seasons with the team were incredible but sadly things went downhill from there. Looking forward to see what Todd Bowles can do with this team, especially how Devin Smith (WR, OSU) turns out to be as a rookie.

Moving on to the other disappointment in New York, the Knicks. I’m going to preface this by saying I am one of those people who prefer College Basketball to the NBA. Not the entirety of the NBA but the teams that focus their game plan on one player (cough LeBron cough) instead of having a team game plan. The Knicks have been trying this for several years now with Carmelo Anthony and it just is not working. Speaking of LeBron, the NBA finals were absolutely amazing to watch. At first I was torn for who to root for because LeBron is a huge supporter of Ohio State but I really couldn’t handle the idea of Shump and JR Smith winning rings the same year as Revis, all 3 not in New York. But then, little miss Riley Curry stole my heart. I am a bandwagon Steph Curry fan and I am not ashamed to admit this. I can’t wait to see baby number 2.

Not all New York teams are disappointments though. While I haven’t always been into Hockey the New York Rangers and their recent success have gotten me to develop an interest in the sport. I would consider myself a casual fan at this point, considering I have only been watching for 2 seasons and do not follow trades and statistics but I do intend to keep up with it more next season. 

Another sport that I was never interested in until the last year or so is baseball. I always found it boring to watch on TV and never saw the strategy in the sport. But thanks to some friends of mine I have now developed an interest in America’s Pastime and have become a New York Yankee fan. 

This is just an overview of who I am as a sports fan and what I will talk about in regards to sports. If you were expecting a girl who claims to be a fan but actually know nothing well I’m glad to have surprised you. Can’t wait for more seasons to start up again so I will have more to discuss but for now it’s all about Baseball, Tennis, Golf, and off season roster changes. We’re all winners with this one. 

Leave a comment