Touchdown Tuesday

We are getting so close to the greatest part of the year, Football Season. My OSU Buckeyes are looking to defend a National Title and my New York Jets, well let’s just say I’m hoping for better than last year, as usual. Today there has been a lot of football news, getting me excited for the upcoming season.

First of all, The Arizona Cardinals have hired the NFL’s first female coach. And I thought the announcement of the league’s first female referee was exciting, but this is even better. Jen Welter is definitely an inspiration and role model for women everywhere. Why didn’t I think to look for a job in sports?

Now, moving on to the more pressing news in the football world today, deflate gate. If you haven’t heard Roger Goodell has upheld Tom Brady’s four game suspension. I have many thoughts about this. First, being a Jets fan and an Ohio State fan it should be obvious that I am not a Tom Brady fan. According to the report he ordered his phone be destroyed during the investigation. Here is where I have questions. Why not just destroy your sim card and give the phone to someone else who could use it? And destroying the phone doesn’t necessarily destroy the messages in question. If he had nothing to hide why didn’t he just hand the messages over to the NFL in the first place? Now I am not saying deflated footballs are a big deal but with Brady and Bellichick’s history, it becomes a bigger issue.

Despite being anti Brady and the Patriots, I can’t help but be frustrated that Greg Hardy is suspended for the same amount of games. Hardy is suspended for violating the personal conduct policy from a domestic violence dispute. How can deflated footballs and destroyed cell phones equal the same suspension as domestic violence? This further perpetuates the reputation that the NFL cannot deal with domestic violence properly.

Lastly, the Patriots have said they will not raise their Super Bowl banner until Brady’s first home game. Guess who they are scheduled to play with this suspension? The New York Jets, of course. Oh I can’t wait until football season.

Leave a comment